Open Access at Bielefeld University
background image
background image
A - Z
Deutsch Deutsch
Bielefeld University > Open Access > Self-Archiving

DINI-Zertifikat 2010 für Dokumenten- und Publikationsservices

OpenAIRE Validierungszeichen

Open Archives

Self-Archiving and Disciplinary Networking

The University Library operates an institutional repository, PUB - The Publication Server at Bielefeld University, via which unrefereed versions (preprints) or refereed versions (postprints) of articles, book chapters, etc. can be made openly accessible.
By now, over two-thirds of all scholarly publishers worldwide allow contributions published in their journals, edited volumes, or conference proceedings to be self-archived.

What texts may I make freely accessible and when may I do so?

As a general rule, the terms of the agreement that you concluded with the publisher when you submitted your manuscript apply. You should therefore be familiar with the legal options before you conclude the publishing agreement. More information on authors' rights and publishing agreements can be found on the information platform open-access.net.

Services provided by Bielefeld University

The documents made publicly available in PUB are accessible worldwide free of charge and discoverable via all major search engines (e.g. Google, Google Scholar, BASE). The documents are linked to the entries in the scholars' and scientists'personal publication lists, where they can be viewed or downloaded. Each document is assigned a stable URN (Uniform Resource Name), which ensures the long-term citability of your publication.
Research data that are made publicly available in PUB are also linked to the publication reference.
The personal publication lists are automatically integrated into the university's Directory of Staff and Departments (PEVZ).
Publication lists maintained in the PUB repository can easily be integrated into the authors' own internal or external websites or combined to form publication lists of entire work areas, chairs, or faculties.

Examples

Disciplinary networking

In order to promote open access to scientific information, open access publications are indexed in disciplinary repositories such as Europe PubMed Central (Europe PMC), and arXiv.org.

Via Europe PMC's External Links Service, freely accessible full texts that have been uploaded to PUB automatically enrich the bibliographic data in Europe PMC. As a result, users of Europe PMC have access to the full texts, thereby significantly increasing the visibility of your texts.
In turn, data that are linked in Europe PMC to related, cited, and citing publications enrich your PUB entries, as is the case, for example, with research data of the European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI).

Examples

Personal Service

We will gladly take care of the archiving of larger numbers of documents as open access full texts in PUB for you! Just send us your documents or a link to your home page.

We will be happy to personally answer any questions you may have and we look forward to your suggestions.
Please contact:

Scholarly Publishing Services Support
Susanne Riedel
Tel.: +49 521 106 4058
Raum: U1-131
E-Mail: publikationsdienste.ub@uni-bielefeld.de

Open Access an der Universität Bielefeld
Hintergrundbild
Hintergrundbild
Uni von A-Z
English English
Universität Bielefeld > Open Access > Zweitveröffentlichung

DINI-Zertifikat 2010 für Dokumenten- und Publikationsservices

OpenAIRE Validierungszeichen

Open Archives

Zweitveröffentlichung

Mit PUB - Publikationen an der Universität Bielefeld betreibt die Universitätsbibliothek ein institutionelles Repositorium, über das Veröffentlichungen vor (Preprint) oder nach der wissenschaftlichen Begutachtung (Postprint) im Sinne des Open Access zugänglich gemacht werden können.
Bereits mehr als Zweidrittel aller wissenschaftlichen Verlage weltweit erlauben eine Zweitveröffentlichung der in ihren Zeitschriften, Sammel- oder Konferenzbänden erschienenen Beiträge.

Welche Texte kann ich wann frei zur Verfügung stellen?

Generell gilt, was Sie beim Einreichen Ihrer Publikation mit Ihrem Verlag vereinbart haben. Daher sollten Sie bereits vor Abschluss des Autorenvertrages die rechtlichen Möglichkeiten kennen. Mehr Informationen zu Autorenrechten und -verträgen finden Sie auf der Informationsplattform open-access.net.

Services der Universität Bielefeld

Die in PUB veröffentlichten Dokumente sind weltweit im Internet kostenlos zugänglich und über alle gängigen Suchmöglichkeiten (wie z.B. Google, Google Scholar, BASE) auffindbar. Die Dokumente sind mit den Einträgen in den persönlichen Publikationslisten der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler verlinkt und dort aufruf- oder downloadbar. Jedes Dokument erhält eine stabile URN (Uniform Resource Name), die die dauerhafte Zitierbarkeit Ihrer Publikation sichert.
Auch veröffentlichte Forschungsdaten sind mit dem Publikationsnachweis verlinkt.
Die persönlichen Publikationslisten sind standardmäßig im Personen- und Einrichtungsverzeichnis der Universität (PEVZ) eingebunden.
Publikationslisten, die im Repositorium „PUB“ gepflegt werden, können ohne großen Aufwand auf eigenen internen oder externen Webseiten eingebunden werden oder zu Publikationslisten kompletter Arbeitsbereiche, Lehrstühle oder Fakultäten zusammengefasst werden.

Beispiele

Disziplinäre Vernetzung

Um den offenen Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Informationen zu fördern, werden Open-Access-Publikationen in disziplinären Repositorien wie Europe PubMed Central (Europe PMC) und arXiv.org nachgewiesen.

Über den External Links Service von Europe PMC reichern frei zugängliche Volltexte, die in PUB hochgeladen wurden, automatisch die bibliographischen Daten in Europe PMC an. Nutzer von Europe PMC haben dadurch Zugriff auf die Volltexte und die Sichtbarkeit Ihrer Texte wird dadurch signifikant erhöht.
Umgekehrt reichern Daten, die in Europe PMC zu verwandten, zitierten und zitierenden Publikationen verlinkt sind, Ihre PUB-Einträge an, ebenso wie Forschungsdaten z.B. des European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI).

Beispiele

Persönlicher Service

Wir übernehmen die Bereitstellung größerer Dokumentenmengen als Open Access-Volltexte in PUB für Sie! Bitte senden Sie uns hierfür Ihre Dokumente oder schicken Sie uns einen Link auf Ihre Homepage.

Gern beantworten wir Ihre Fragen persönlich und freuen uns auf Ihre Anregungen.
Bitte wenden Sie sich an:

Support Publikationsdienste
Susanne Riedel
Tel.: 0521/106-4058
Raum: U1-131
E-Mail: publikationsdienste.ub@uni-bielefeld.de